Skip to main content

Nice attack

The Nice attack on July 14, 2016 left 86 people of 19 different nationalities dead and nearly 500 injured. That evening, nearly 30,000 people came to watch the fireworks in France's second most popular tourist city. The attack was also the first in France to affect so many children, as it targeted families and friendly groups who had come to enjoy the show.

Six years after the event, the trial begins in Paris on September 5, 2022. It is scheduled to last almost four months. The first objective of a trial is always judicial. It's an important step for those involved, and one that helps to restore the importance of each individual story. However, the trial can also reactivate painful memories. There are ways to take care of your mental health and that of your loved ones.

What are the signs of post-traumatic stress disorder?

Adults involved in the Nice attack

The moment of trial can be difficult, as it can revive or reawaken the traumatic experience. Taking care of yourself is particularly important. We need to protect ourselves from overexposure, especially in the media: we don't have to see and watch everything.

It's also important not to bury your feelings, but to talk about them and not isolate yourself. It's not possible to erase the trauma, but it is possible to make sense of it, and get on with a life that may be different, but is still worth living.

Recommendations for direct and indirect victims and bereaved relativesRecommendations for direct and indirect victims and bereaved relativesFinding your way around the trial: Montjoye association

Interview with Professor Michel Benoit

Psychiatrist at Nice University Hospital, head of the PACA-Corse regional psychotrauma center.

Podcast

Children and teenagers involved in the Nice attack

Children and teenagers need to recognize themselves as victims, to put into words what they have experienced.Some bereaved children and adolescents also hope that the trial will tell their story and provide them with answers. They may be looking for meaning in the event that shattered their lives. The trial won't be able to satisfy this longing. On the other hand, if the child is ready and willing, it's an opportunity to revisit the family history, provided the adults around him or her feel able to do so. Every family has its own history and its own capacity to deal with it at this particular time. Don't hesitate to ask the family for help if you need it.

During the trial, it is important to be attentive to your child's needs and to protect him if necessary:

Recommendations for family and friends of child victims
Recommendations for relatives and caregivers of child victims
[/vc_row_inner]

Interview with Professor Florence Askenazy - children

Child and adolescent psychiatrist at the Pediatric University Hospital, Fondation Lenval.

Podcast

Interview with Lise Eilin Stene - teenagers

Doctor of Medicine and researcher at the Norwegian Centre for Violence and Traumatic Stress Studies.

Podcast

Relatives and caregivers

The particularity of the Nice attack is that it affected family and friends who were present together on the Promenade des Anglais. Those who were not present with their loved ones may feel guilt, shame and helplessness in the face of their suffering. Yet their support is essential in creating a safe, caring space where their loved ones can express their feelings and reflect on their experiences.

[/vc_row_inner]

Professionals

The traumatic consequences of an attack can have a ripple effect at several levels. Certain professionals (firefighters, nurses, police, public actors, etc.) who intervened at the time of the attack may suffer from psychotraumatic after-effects, which it is important to treat. Other professionals may also come into contact with people showing signs of PTSD, and take on the role of caring sentinel. 

Recommendations for general practitioners: identifying, supporting and referring patients with PTSD

Interview with Naïma

Member of the psychotrauma community, who works at the Agence Régionale de Santé in Marseille and was mobilized during the Nice attack. We apologize for the poor sound quality, as this interview was conducted in a hotel.

Podcast

Cultural resources

Après l'orage, Hélène Romero and Adélie Day, Editions courtes et longues, 2016

Discover all the cultural recommendations on the theme "Wars".

Cultural resources
Go to main content

Skip to main content

Attentat de Nice

L’attentat de Nice du 14 juillet 2016 a provoqué la mort de 86 personnes de 19 nationalités différentes et fait près de 500 blessés. Ce soir-là, près de 30 000 personnes étaient venues assister au feu d’artifice dans la deuxième ville la plus touristique de France. Cet attentat est aussi le premier en France qui a impacté autant d’enfants puisqu’il a ciblé des familles et des groupes amicaux qui venaient profiter du spectacle.

Six ans après l’événement, le procès débute à Paris le 5 septembre 2022. Il est prévu pour durer près de quatre mois. Le premier objectif d’un procès est toujours judiciaire. C’est une étape importante pour les impliqués qui permet aussi de redonner son importance à chaque histoire individuelle. Cependant le procès peut aussi réactiver des souvenirs douloureux. Des solutions existent pour prendre soin de votre santé mentale et de celle de vos proches.

Quels sont les signes du trouble de stress post-traumatique ?

Adultes impliqués dans l’attentat de Nice

Le moment du procès peut être difficile car il peut raviver ou réveiller l’expérience traumatisante. Prendre soin de soi est particulièrement important. Il est nécessaire de se protéger d’une surexposition, notamment médiatique : nous ne sommes pas obligés de tout voir et de tout regarder.

Il est aussi important de ne pas enfouir son ressenti mais au contraire, d’en parler et de ne pas s’isoler. Il n’est pas possible d’effacer le traumatisme mais il est possible de lui donner du sens et de reprendre une vie, différente certes, mais qui vaut la peine d’être vécue.

Recommandations à l’attention des victimes directes, indirectes et proches endeuillésRecommendations for direct and indirect victims and bereaved relativesSe repérer dans le procès : association Montjoye

Interview du Professeur Michel Benoit

Psychiatre au CHU de Nice, responsable du centre régional du psychotraumatisme PACA-Corse.

Podcast

Enfants et adolescents impliqués dans l’attentat de Nice

Les enfants et adolescents ont besoin de se reconnaître comme victimes, de mettre des mots sur ce qu’ils ont vécu. Certains enfants et adolescents endeuillés espèrent aussi que le procès va leur raconter leur histoire et leur apporter des réponses. Ils peuvent chercher du sens à l’événement qui a fracturé leur vie. Le procès ne pourra pas répondre à cette aspiration. En revanche, si l’enfant est prêt et le souhaite, c’est l’occasion de revenir sur l’histoire familiale, à condition que les adultes autour de lui se sentent capables de le faire. Chaque famille a son histoire et ses capacités à y faire face à ce moment précis. Il ne faut pas hésiter à se faire accompagner en famille si besoin.

Durant le procès, il est important d’être attentif aux besoins de votre enfant et de le protéger si nécessaire :

Recommandations à l’attention des proches et accompagnants des enfants victimes
Recommendations for relatives and caregivers of child victims
[/vc_row_inner]

Interview du Professeur Florence Askenazy – enfants

Psychiatre de l’enfant et de l’adolescent à l’Hôpital Universitaire Pédiatrique à la Fondation Lenval.

Podcast

Interview de Lise Eilin Stene – adolescents

Docteure en médecine et chercheuse au Centre norvégien d’études sur la violence et le stress traumatique.

Podcast

Proches et accompagnants

La particularité de l’attentat de Nice est d’avoir touché des groupes familiaux et amicaux présents ensemble sur la Promenade des Anglais. Ceux qui n’étaient pas présents avec leurs proches peuvent ressentir de la culpabilité, de la honte et se sentir impuissants face à leurs souffrances. Pourtant leur soutien est essentiel pour créer un espace sécurisé et bienveillant où leurs proches puissent exprimer leurs ressentis et revenir sur leurs expériences.

[/vc_row_inner]

Professionnels

Les conséquences traumatiques d’un attentat peuvent faire ricochet à plusieurs niveaux. Certains professionnels (pompiers, soignants, police, acteurs publics etc.) qui sont intervenus au moment de l’attentat peuvent souffrir de séquelles psychotraumatiques qu’il est important de prendre en charge. D’autres professionnels peuvent aussi rencontrer des personnes qui présentent des signes de TSPT et endosser un rôle de sentinelle bienveillante. 

Recommandations aux médecins généralistes : repérer, accompagner et orienter les patients atteints de TSPT

Interview de Naïma

Membre de la communauté de personnes à l’épreuve de psychotraumatismes, qui travaille à l’Agence Régionale de Santé à Marseille et a été mobilisée pendant l’attentat de Nice. Nous nous excusons pour la mauvaise qualité du son, cette interview a été réalisée dans un hôtel.

Podcast

Ressources culturelles

Après l’orage, Hélène Romero et Adélie Day, Editions courtes et longues, 2016

Découvrez toutes les recommandations culturelles sur le thème “Guerres”

Ressources culturelles
Aller au contenu principal